The Tree of Life in the Four Worlds

The beauty of the Tree of Life is that it’s not a static glyph. It can be twisted, turned, and even fractalized. I copied the representation of the Tree of Life in the four worlds as shown in the picture twenty years ago from a book I read in a library. I don’t remember the name of the book, neither the author. In this variation of the Tree of Life, Tiphareth, Netzach, Hod, Yesod, and Malkuth – when they fall to the world below – turn into Kether, Chokmah, Binah, Daath, and Tiphareth respectively. Many interpretations are possible. These are the ones that came to my mind:

  • Every inspiration created in Tiphareth (Christ, Ruach) becomes a will-idea or intention for the world below
  • Desire turns into wisdom
  • Thinking turns into understanding
  • Mystical knowledge turns into mind or subconsciousness – that’s why our subconsciousness ‘knows everything’.
  • The manifestation of the world above turns into inspiration for the world below it.

Usually, we ascend the Tree of Life gradually through the four worlds (Jacob’s ladder), but apparently, there are four shortcuts:

  • Tiphareth of Assiah -> Malkuth of Yetzirah
  • Kether of Assiah ->Tiphareth of Yetzirah -> Malkuth of Briah
  • Kether of Yetzirah – Tiphareth of Briah -> Malkuth of Atziluth
  • Kether of Briah -> Tiphareth of Atziluth

Tree of Life Four Worlds With Axis

These shortcuts are known as the Axis Mundi, the world’s axis which is said to be at the center of the world, connecting heaven (above) and earth (below), allowing communication between the higher and lower realms. Once in a while, instead of ascending gradually from one Sephiroth to another in a peaceful meditation, our consciousness experience a quantum leap and spontaneously rise a world or two.

For example, a vision of Christ (Tiphareth in Assiah) may also give rise to a vision of the First Matter (Malkuth in Yetzirah). That explains the odd alchemical dictum that the First Matter is ‘mankind’.

The most intriguing axis is the one that connects Kether of Assiah with Tiphareth of Yetzirah and Malkuth of Briah. When our crown chakra (Kether of Assiah) opens, we may have a vision of the Cosmic Christ or even reach Malkuth of Briah, the Kingdom of Heaven as Jesus liked to call it.

In the context of evolution (Exodus), Yetzirah is the wilderness – the unchartered land of meditation and mystical experience. There, Moses and all other prophets receive initiations and training from the inner voice, the Hierophant (Tarot card 5). When they are ready, they climb the peak of the wilderness, Kether of Yetzirah, symbolized by Zion, Mt Carmel, or other mountain peaks. Up there, they can converse with God’s messenger or countenance. This is the Lesser Countenance or Tiphareth of Briah, ruled by Archangel Michael. One time Moses even managed to rise along that axis all the way to Atziluth and meet God face-to-behind (Exodus 33.23). I guess that was Malkuth of Atziluth, the Kingdom of Spirit.

This arrangement of the Tree of Life can also illustrate creation myths. For example, how Osiris, the hero of creation (Tiphareth of Briah), after he was slain, became the ruler of the underworld (Kether of Yetzirah).

Picture attribution: copyright Comfreak @

5 comments on “The Tree of Life in the Four Worlds

  1. I think the short cuts to the four worlds in the tree of life is brilliant.
    I’m just starting to learn the tree of life. Right now, I’m stuck in Assiah. I’m trying to map out the tree of life

  2. I think the short cut is brilliant.
    I noticed you connect the worlds with the center pillar….the pillar of consciousness.
    I’m starting to learn the tree of life. Right now, ‘m stuck in Assiah….trying to climb my way upward.
    I’m also interested in astrology and I want to convert to kabbalistic astrology.
    So please e-mail on everything on the tree of life OR on kabbalistic astrology.

    • Kabbalistic astrology is hard to come by. Christian and Hermetic Qabalah is a bit easier to come by. The Tree of Life is made of 32 path of wisdom, 10 Sephiroth and 22 paths. The 22 paths correlate to ten planets and 12 zodiacs. The astrological association of the Sephiroth: Kether – non (beginning of the whirlings), Chokmah – the zodiac, Binah – Saturn, Chesed – Jupiter, Geburah – Mars, Tiphareth – sun, Netzach – Venus, Hod – Mercury, Yesod – Moon, Malkuth – the four elements.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.